Quiet Tiffany!

Oh London…

All day long I was looking forward to the opening ceremonies. I woke up early to watch the Today show from London, watched coverage all day long and only left for a work event. Then I sped as fast I could to get up to our lake cabin for a weekend vacay and made it in record time (4 hours flat!…going 80+ mph lol). I made it with 6 minutes to spare before the ceremonies began so needless to say I was EXCITED..and not just normal excited, we’re talking Oprah’s Favorite Things audience member excited.

I was here for all of it – the Olympic music, the opening montages, the countdown…And then the ceremonies began. I should have known from the beginning that the lackluster start would be a precursor of things to come. That’s not to say there weren’t some beautiful moments, but I had gone from a kid at a candy shop birthday party like this:

To this:

Oh Lizzy, I felt your pain too. Again, I need to reiterate that it wasn’t all bad. I liked the early part of the show during the “Industrial Revolution” phase, especially when they had the ring of fire that formed into the Olympic rings…that was beautiful

I even liked the cool yet creepy literature part of the show where all the famous characters from British Lit came to life and filled the arena. The flying Mary Poppins were also pretty neat. But then that too got a little weird..

I mean..It looks like Voldemort wanted to Avada Kedavra all the little Mary’s. (If there aren’t any Harry Potter readers in here SHAME ON YOU, but that’s the killing curse). I loved that JK Rowling made an appearance too. She looked and sounded awesome and I want her to read me a bedtime story to be honest.

I think my favorite part was that the Queen herself teamed up with Daniel Craig (the best Bond fyi, deal with it) for a little cameo. Plus, WHO DOESN’T LOVE CORGIS

 

 

The only thing that could have made this part better was if the queen herself actually did skydive out of the helicopter into the stadium. BUT as you saw above, it seems that she was NOT HERE FOR ANY OF THIS. Let’s revisit her happy face one more time:

Simply splendid!

But then it just got strange. I’m not quite sure why Danny Boyle thought the whole teenage love story segment featuring awkward dancing and even more awkward on-screen texting was appropriate for an Olympic opening ceremony but I just didn’t get it. The music they chose was awesome but overall I just side-eyed the whole thing

Equally silly was the dedication to Mr. Bean. Is that really the best figure/celebrity you want to show the entire world with 1 billion people watching? The Chariots of Fire montage was kinda cool I guess but overall I was left scratching my head again and wondering what was going on.

Finally we came to the Parade of Nations which some people find boring but I actually enjoy it. I love seeing all the different countries, their flag bearers and the costumes/outfits they chose to wear. Granted, some of them were a bit odd i.e. Germany who perhaps thought they were coming to the Winter Olympics with their Hello Kitty color inspired getups?

I could have also done without Bob Costas and his endless jabbering. I get that he is the Olympic commentator but he annoyed me last night and there were way too many commercial breaks. I of course was happy to see USA’s entrance and I equally enjoyed seeing the independent athletes march in under a united Olympic flag.

That leaves the last 2 parts of the show – the torch lighting and the fireworks. I think my tepid response to the opening ceremonies is hampered by a disappointing end. Of all the cool things London could have done, they had one of the most underwhelming torch lightings I can think of. What is the point of lighting a torch that only rises a few feet and sits on the floor of the arena? The whole point is that it should rise above the stadium as a beacon for all the city to see. (Wow, I’m heading into nerd mode at this point). If you want to see cool torch lightings, see Barcelona.

At least the fireworks were cool and I think I’ll leave it at that. While I didn’t love the opening ceremonies, I’m more excited for all the great athleticism to come. And it starts right away today! Swimming, gymnastics and many other events will set up for a great opening weekend.

I plan on laying cool the next few days as I’m going to enjoy my vacay up at the lake. Have a great weekend everyone and go USA 🙂

3 thoughts on “Quiet Tiffany!

  1. I agree with your assessment of the lackluster opening ceremonies. The volunteers were out of sync and the whole “story” seemed forced. The Chinese really put on a great show in Beijing.

Leave a Reply

