I’M SO FREAKING EXCITED

THEY’RE HERE, THEY’RE HERE. The London Olympics are finally here! I feel like Paul Revere right now, I could shout the news from the top of my lungs! (Ok, perhaps he’s not the best example considering the USA and England weren’t exactly bffs at the time…BUT WHATEVS, we love each other now) I’m JUST SO EXCITED

In preparation for this monumental day, I have already pre-DVRd any and all Olympic related coverage for the next week on my TV. I will also be waking up at dawn so I can watch the Today show LIVE from London. The fact that Meredith Vieira is coming back to co-host the games is just the greatest (douchebro Matt Lauer can suck it though, I’m not here for that. I’m also not sure who the bigger diva will be, him or Ryan Seacrest, who sadly will also be a part of NBC’s coverage this year)

Tonight’s opening ceremony is one of my favorite parts of the entire games and I’m hoping London can put on a great show. As much as I hate to admit it, it will be hard to top Beijing. If you read my previous blog post, you know how I feel about China and their cheating ways… But I digress, they really did put on a beautiful show and I hope London can make it their own. My only hope is they don’t have the kind of epic failure that Vancouver had in 2010. Remember that awkward moment when Wayne Gretzky tried to light the torch and nothing happened? Because I do, and I was so …. “disappoint”

My other favorite thing about the games starting today is the Olympics always bring everyone together. For 2 short weeks we are all united in our support of our awesome (and clearly superior) athletes. And to be honest, as much as I LOVE America (and you know I do) the Olympics are truly about the human spirit and all the inspiring and uplifting stories that come with it. Take for example the story of Guor Marial, a former Sudanese refugee who doesn’t have a country to call home. He petitioned the IOC to compete in the games and will march under the Olympic flag. That’s what it’s all about. So whomever you are cheering for, put on your warpaint and cheer on your country.

So there we have it. After the long wait, the Olympics are finally here! I’m so excited for all of it…They gymnastics, the swimming, the diving, the track and field events…even the fencing! (Alright, I don’t really care about the the soccer, sorry Jeff, but I’ll still obviously cheer for USA). BRING ON THE GAMES, MY BODY IS READY

 

p.s 2, this just happened 🙂

5 thoughts on “I’M SO FREAKING EXCITED

  1. I’m excited for you and that your love is finally here! I love all the gifs, but the one with the ice cream kinda grossed me out haha! The song was even great, the fact that the swim team did it was cool, even though that song needs to gtfo lol. Go USA!

Leave a Reply

